Community Competition 2023

Around 100 floral volunteers and invited guests from Guernsey, Herm and Alderney attended the annual Floral Guernsey Awards Evening at Les Cotils on Thursday 7th September.
Canapés and drinks on the terrace were followed by an excellent meal with musical entertainment provided by Michel on his accordian assisted by Davide on guitar.
Afterwards the winners were announced by Chairman, John Woodward, with comments from Rae Beckwith, National RHS Judge and local Judge, Jess Aughton, lecturer in horticulture at the Guernsey Institute.
They were both very impressed with the high standards throughout and thoroughly enjoyed the experience of seeing the wide variety of gardening expertise and enthusiasm of the participants.
The Joc Watts trophy is an award given by the Floral Guernsey Council to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to Floral Guernsey.
The winner this year is Caroline Allisette.
The DH and ON Falla Award for the Best Douzaine Rooms and Constables' Offices had 9 contenders with the trophy being presented to St. Sampson.


Community Competition 2023 Awards

Gold Forest
Silver-Gilt Alderney Herm


Fred Torode - Rodley Park
Sam Pyecroft - Alderney Roots
Maria Ze - Chateau du Village Care Home
St. Saviour - Welcome to Guernsey Floral Board
Andy, John and Bridget - Alderney Watermill Project
Chris and Jackie Meinke - Island Games Teddy Bear Window
Emma Martin - Pat Merriman Peace Garden Les Cotils

Lady Dory Trophy

Overall 2023 Winner Floral Forest

Special Discretionary Awards

Best Floral Displays
St. Sampson's Douzaine Rooms
Best Local Environment Award
Rodley Park - St. Sampson
Best New Project Award
The Watermill - Alderney
Conservation and Wildlife Award
Camp des Reves, Torteval
Floral Guernsey Theme Award
Bert Fallaize
Heritage Award
The Watermill, Alderney
Ossie Falla Memorial Award
Rodley Park - St. Sampson
Horticultural Excellence Award
Jenny Richardson - Alderney
Most Improved Award
Weighbridge Roundabout - States Works
Small Community Award
Rodley Park - St. Sampson
Tourism Award
St. Pierre du Bois Bicycles
Young People's Award
St. Saviour's Sunday Club
Norma Ozanne Schools Award
Mary Carey and the pupils of Herm School
Care Homes Award
Chateau du Village Nursing Home
Joc Watts Trophy
Caroline Allisette
Simply the Best - The John Woodward Trophy
A new award for the entry that really stood out for the Judges.
La Chambre de la Douzaine - St. Sampson.